Every season with a quick story

Series Overview

Dexter is an acclaimed American television drama that was broadcast on the premium cable channel Showtime from October 1, 2006, to September 22, 2013. A total of 96 episodes of Dexter were broadcast throughout eight seasons. The series is based on characters created by Jeff Lindsay for his “Dexter” series of novels.

The show received multiple nominations for various awards, winning 19—including two Primetime Emmy Awards, two Golden Globe Awards, seven Satellite Awards, five Saturn Awards, one Screen Actors Guild Award, and one TCA Award—and was twice selected by the American Film Institute as one of the top ten television programs of the year in 2006 and 2007. Other nominations include PGA Awards, WGA Awards, and Peabody Awards. As of May 2012, the show has been nominated for a whopping 125 awards.

Here you can read

List of Dexter Seasons

  • SEASON 1

    This season aired from October 1, 2006 to December 17, 2006 and follows Dexter’s investigation of “The Ice Truck Killer”. Introduced in the first episode, “Dexter”, this serial killer targets prostitutes and leaves their bodies severed and bloodless.

  • SEASON 2

    The second season of Dexter premiered on September 30, 2007, and ended on December 16, 2007. “It’s Alive”, the season premiere, attracted 1.01 million viewers in the United States, making Dexter the first Showtime series to attract more than a million viewers with a season premiere

  • SEASON 3

    The third season of Dexter premiered on September 28, 2008 and ended on December 14, 2008. “Our Father”, the season premiere, attracted 1.22 million viewers in the United States, making it Showtime’s highest-rated drama season premiere since Nielsen Media Research began compiling ratings in 2004. The season’s finale, “Do You Take Dexter Morgan?” attracted 1.5 million viewers

  • SEASON 4

    On October 21, 2008, Showtime commissioned a fourth and fifth season of Dexter, each consisting of 12 episodes. The show’s writers convened during February and March 2009 to brainstorm ideas for the fourth season, and filming was scheduled to begin in June 2009. On May 27, 2009, Showtime announced that John Lithgow would guest star in all 12 episodes as Miami’s latest and deadliest serial killer, and Keith Carradine would return as Lundy.

  • SEASON 5

    The fifth season of Dexter premiered on September 26, 2010, and consisted of 12 episodes. The season focuses on how Dexter comes to terms with the aftermath of the Season 4 finale, stopping a group of serial rapists and avoiding a corrupt cop who learns his deadly secret.

  • SEASON 6

    The sixth season of Dexter premiered on October 2, 2011 on the television cable network Showtime, and consisted of 12 episodes. The season follows Dexter’s and Miami Metro’s investigations into a string of bizarre ritualistic killings featuring overtly religious apocalyptic symbolism. On November 18, 2011, it was announced that Dexter had been renewed for two more seasons.

  • SEASON 7

    The seventh season of Dexter premiered on September 30, 2012. The season follows Dexter’s tangles with a Ukrainian mob boss and introduces the character Hannah McKay, a mysterious widow with a green thumb and a checkered past. The season seven story arc is continued over the course of the eighth season, which premiered on June 30, 2013.

  • SEASON 8

    The eighth and final season of Dexter premiered on June 30, 2013. The season follows Dexter Morgan, who is forced to deal with his past when he comes across Dr. Evelyn Vogel, an expert on psychiatry who returns to Miami. Nicknamed the Psychopath Whisperer, she claims to have structured the code for him alongside Harry. This season also deals with a new serial killer in Miami that removes pieces of the victims’ brains, and with Debra who is trying to deal with what she has done in the past season.